Insomnia, Snoring, Sleep Apnea

The world and life of a sleep tech

Why a Sleep Support Group?

Posted by amykr on March 1, 2009

 

I am starting A.W.A.K.E. Orlando, Alert, Well, and Keeping Energetic, for one simple reason.  As I take care of the people who come through my lab I have found that many think they are alone when it comes to using CPAP or managing Restless Leg Syndrome or dealing with their insomnia.  This isolation has two effect the first being that they do not use the prescribed therapy.  The second reason being that people are embarrassed and isolate themselves.  I want a third option which is to embrace and learn to enjoy your machine and get tips from each other on how to use it to the best of your ability.  I think that the options out there should be explored such as oral appliances and there benefits and risks.  I think surgery should be explored and its benefits and risks and I think everyone should see the latest masks and machines. 

 

This group is for the users and the family of users.  I personally have a son with sleep apnea, a husband with sleep apnea and an ex-husband with sleep apnea.  I believe that the family of someone with sleep apnea especially the parents of children who have questions should have someplace to turn. 

 

As part of this group we will have monthly meetings.  This will give up us time to have speakers come in as well as give each other face to face support.  AT the end if you want your mask and equipment checked I will be happy to do that.

 

I created a website so we can have discussions outside the meetings to create ongoing support. 

 

This is all about helping you create the healthy strong and energetic life you deserve.  If I can help in any small way then I thank you for that opportunity.  I hope I get to see you all at the meeting.

 

Website: http://awakeorlando.ning.com  My email amy8028472@yahoo.com

 

Amy Korn-Reavis, RRT, RPSGT has been in the respiratory field for over twenty years.  She has worked in all areas and is currently focusing on sleep and how to help the community feel better by sleeping better.  She is the manager of Emery Sleep Solutions an independent testing facility located in Apopka, Florida.  If you have any questions about sleep or are looking for someone to speak at your community function she can be reached at areavis@emerymedicalsolutions.com or you can visit the facility’s website at www.emerysleepsolutions.com

Leave a Reply

 
