Insomnia, Snoring, Sleep Apnea

The world and life of a sleep tech

Fear of the Dreaded Deductible

Posted by amykr on December 20, 2008

There are only two more weeks left to the year and the dreaded fear of the deductible has arisen. This condition involves the realization that the new year not only brings resolutions and fresh commitments but a large financial goose egg known as the insurance deductible. This large sum of money due at the beginning of each year for healthcare expenses although is known is quite frequently unplanned for.

So I started getting the frantic phone calls this week to try and get their tests completed and billed before years end. The issues are difficult because many doctors take vacation the last weeks of the month. We do however want to help those who need it. And will try to schedule people as quickly as possible for the study. But really what we need to do is plan for the deductible so that it will not affect our healthcare.

Every year on January 1 I have a $3000 expense that involves my deductible and my son’s medication. The medication company knows this and I know this. I try to order my last does of the year as close to the end of the month as possible so I do not have deal with this right after the holidays. I also have a savings account to save for this. Each month I a small portion to this amount. This helps. I also work with the drug company to do monthly payment plans usually I will have about $1500 in the bank account and then I pay the rest off in monthly payments. So how does this pertain to you?

Well this year many people have had an increase in their deductible, and like me they had to meet their deductible twice in a 6 month period because their company changed insurers. If you need care do not hesitate to work with the people who are providing your care. Sometimes if you pay in cash up front they will give you a discount over what you would pay with your insurer. Look into care credit. It is a medical credit card that will help you to cover your shortfall. If worse comes to worse contact your local hospital’s social work department. They might have suggestions of where you might be able to get affordable care until you have met your deductible. The important thing is to make sure you get the care you need.

Your health is the one thing that when you loose there is no amount of money that will replace it. So I hope everyone has a healthy and happy holiday.

Leave a Reply

 
