Insomnia, Snoring, Sleep Apnea

The world and life of a sleep tech

Breathing is Optional

Posted by amykr on December 19, 2008

There are many nights when I perform sleep studies and I realize that my patients in their sleep think breathing is optional.  You know the people I am talking about.  They will never admit it but you have heard them.  Snore, Snore, Louder Snore, Louder Snore then silence, followed by a loud inhale. This happens over and over again all night.  But this is not how everyone with sleep apnea sounds.  Some people do not snore.  Some people just have shallow breathing that cause decreases in their oxygen levels.  All of these cause a great deal of stress on the body.

It is why I love helping my patients so much.  Tonight I had a patient stop by the lab to tell me how wonderful he is feeling since we have treated his sleep apnea.  He has never felt so well rested or so energentic.  That is the type of things I enjoy hearing. 

It is always my pleasure to take a person who thinks breathing is optional to a person who can really get a great night’s sleep and feel like the can conquer the world the next day.

3 Responses to “Breathing is Optional”

  1. keepbreathing said

    It must be awesome to get that satisfaction…finding a problem and then reversing it, improving a life like that. Keep up the good work. Sleep is important.

  2. Hello,

    Just came across your blog. I’m an RT student, and I enjoy learning about sleep medicine. Thanks for the great post and keep up the good work.

  3. Breathing is of course not optional! As a sufferer, I comiserate with you. Nice collection of sleep problem articles here. I will be back.

Leave a Reply

 
